Gratitude 27April14 But I Like That

“There will always be a part of me that is dirty and sloppy,
but I like that, just like all the other parts of myself.
I can forgive. Can you say the same for yourself, fucker?
Can you forgive? Are you capable of that?”

Silver Lining Playbook is my go-to movie when I am angry with depression. It puts mental illness in perspective. The story is about everyday people who struggle through the multi-dimensional layers of mental illness.

via Pinterest.com

via Pinterest.com

It paints a realistic picture of how mental illness reflected in the eyes of society; those how love you, friends, even employment. Mental illness is that one drop in the pond that begins an endless ripple of waves. The movie adds a positive perspective of being a survivor and everyday coping skills.

The movie reflects some true aspects. People do discuss their medication like the weather. You sit in a group or a hospital and look around at others thinking “Whoa; they are way crazier than me.” It shows situations where a person gets on what I call the “crazy train” and can’t get off. We see Pat get in a wave of panic for his wedding video and the song that triggers him. The look on his face as he stares at the pills in his hand and takes them. The reality of the need for those medications to remain balanced.

For me, the Tiffany quote I started this blog with is key. It’s about coming to terms with the totality of your life experiences. It is a process to accept any life changing illness. You come to terms with the effects on you and your life. You learn to forgive yourself for crazy train moments and love yourself for who you are. And like Tiffany, I like that about myself.

Today I am thankful ..
A wonderful thunderstorm
Yummy chicken salad
My fake fireplace

So, I ask you ” Can you forgive? Are you capable of that?”

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

