Gratitude 8Nov13 My Comfort Zone

As I was going through my October writings, I found a lot of references to my “comfort zone.” My comfort zone is that figurative place i go to in my mind where I feel content. So much of my life requires an extension of self or additional emotional energy to cope and function.  I find being within the cocoon of my comfort zone is a “waiting to exhale” moment.

via google.com

via google.com

It’s easy to be around those who look and think like you. There is not much challenge to that. Those of you who know me well, know that has not been my story. Most of my life has been about being around a culture that acts and looks very different from me. It is from that experience that I learned the powerful lesson of learning who someone is before judging. Life requires us to step outside of our comfort zone to learn and grow. The interesting thing is — the step outside of our comfort zone often leads to a greater expanse to our comfort.

 “I have found the paradox, that if you love until it hurts, there can be no more hurt, only more love.”   Daphne Rae

 

Recently while doing some research on comfort zones, most give thought on how to step outside of your comfort zone. I am in support of this — especially when it comes to paying it forward. However, I am an avid supporter of nurturing comfort zones. Everyone should have that space within to be at peace, no drama and secure.

Today i am thankful

  • Options
  • Taking a tea break and having coffee
  • The changing view outside my windows
  • Love. Love. Love.

riding in my cartoday’s picture .. a fantasy car ride .. what kind of car are you in? where are you going? who is in the seat next to you?

today i am listening to .. dance with me by marvin gaye

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

