Gratitude 25Oct13 Pennies from Heaven

While out walking today, I was thinking of someone I miss a lot. I began to think of all of the fun we had together. I reminisced on the life lessons I learned through our friendship. I thought to myself “I hope you know just how much I still love you.

via Pinterest.com

via Pinterest.com

As I turned onto my street, I looked down and shined brightly in the sun was a penny. A deep belly laugh echoed through me. I looked up to heaven and said “Thank you.” It was my penny from a heaven moment.

I have a crystal box on my dresser that holds coins and small trinkets I have found over the years. Every now and again, I go through it. I can’t seem to part with any of the contents. Somehow, each treasure seems lucky. Superstitious? Probably.

When I was little, my Granny told me a story that when you are missing someone who has gone to heaven, an angel sends down a penny for you to find. It was the angel’s way of letting you know they are thinking of you, too. She never said pass up a penny you find.

Greek mythology believed that a cooper had special properties because it is one of the oldest metals to be used by man. Cooper was believed to ward off evil spirits and attract love. The United States government, originally made the penny out of cooper simply because of the low cost and weight factor. Not much mystery or fantasy in that.

I chose to believe my Granny and hold that story near and dear to my heart. I keep my crystal box filled with pennies, just in case.

Today I am thankful ..

  • Good memories bring comfort.
  • A cup of Teavana tea.
  • My body feels great!
  • Wishing you all a great weekend. Take the time out for yourself.

affectionately yours, Laura

One thought on “Gratitude 25Oct13 Pennies from Heaven

  1. I can relate: Today I’ve been focusing on all the wonderful lessons about life and love from mom and gram and I wasn’t so sad today. I have such WONDERFUL memories and Lord I am a combination of both of them

    Like

Leave a Reply

