Gratitude 17Oct13 Racism, Alive and Well

While out walking, a group of what appeared to be teenage boys, drove by me and shouted “nigger lover” at me. At the time I was listening to a Joel Osteen podcast. So, feeling extra christian. I said a quick prayer “Father, forgive those ignorant asses. And my swearing. I am working on it. I promise.”

via Pinterest.com

via Pinterest.com

Since my youth I have been blessed to be part of a family, who, happen to be black. Sadly, I have been sliced with that particular epithet more times than I can count. Well, that and crazy bitch which comes in a close second. Another blog, for another day. Not giving it much more thought, I went back to my place of joy of enjoying the sun, walking and listening to the podcast.

A while later, I reached up to adjust my brim and revelation swept through me. I was wearing my Obama 2012 baseball cap. Racism, alive and well in America. I said a prayer for the safety of our president and those who protect him. How incredibly sad that a group of our future generation, thought in those terms and were comfortable to shout it out. Racism isn’t innate; it is taught.

Today I am thankful for ..

  • I have increased my writing time
  •  Our government is back up and running
  • My coco caramel sea salt tea

Chances are you will encounter someone who is different than you today. The difference many be as obvious as skin color or as personal as political affiliation. Pay it forward with kindness.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

