Gratitude 16Oct13 Life in a Fishbowl

One of the things I am working hard to change is to stop talking about people. Every time I do, it turns out badly. A big lesson learned is, if someone will gossip with you, they will gossip about you.

via Pinterest.com

via Pinterest.com

I believe we are all intrigued about what goes on in other people’s lives. There is a very fine line between wondering how someone is and wondering how someone is. With that said, not all gossip is bad. Gossip is a means of bonding with each other. It is the sharing of information and opinion when it is understood as that. That fine line is often crossed with the sharing of personal information that was not meant to be shared or unkind in content.

 I am guilty of being a follower of celebrity gossip. I often have my face pressed against that fishbowl that Kenny Chesney sings about. I have posted a part of the lyrics below. Whether you are a celebrity or just every day folk, gossip is always intriguing until you are the topic of the conversation. It’s a different view looking out of the fishbowl than looking in. When it comes to family and friends, I have become much more sensitive about the information I pass along.

Everybody’s life is on display
It’s gotten out of control
Tell me do you feel exposed?
Well, welcome to the fishbowl

Today I am thankful for ..

  • Prioritizing what is important in my life
  • Learning tools to make good choices
  • My fall decorations I have around my home
  • I am still enjoying my pumpkin latte creamer
  • A Santi day is always a good day

At some point today you may pass someone without a smile. It doesn’t cost a thing to share yours. Pay it forward.

affectionately yours, Laura

Leave a Reply

